#PitchWars ’17: Episode One

So, many moons ago, I decided to submit my MS to a contest called Pitch Wars. I learned about it on Twitter, even though it’s not a purely Twitter-based contest.

pitch-wars-cover

Essentially, Pitch Wars is a mentorship for an unpublished writer by a published/agented author, an editor, or an industry intern. They shine your finished MS up all nice and pretty, and then parade it around in front of agents searching for their next project to sign.

tenor

You might get signed. You might not. But the *real* advantage of Pitch Wars is that you make a bunch of new pals, and you learn a butt-ton about publishing, writing, and the whole industry and process.

To enter Pitch Wars, you need a completed MS (manuscript),  a query letter, a synopsis, and a pitch.

In July, I realized I had all of these things. And I even thought my MS was pretty bitchin’. So I got on the Pitch Wars website and… hesitated. There was no way I was going to get picked. No way I was a good enough writer. No way my story was interesting to anyone except me.

But it was free, and private, so what was the harm? I researched the mentors and picked four that were the best fit for my MS, and BLAM. Sent. Cue anxiety.

giphy

I didn’t expect to get any requests for a full MS. That’s what happens if a mentor likes your query. They ask for the full MS. No way that was ever going to happen to me.

Oh. Wait. It did happen. Twice. And one of the mentors wasn’t one I had even subbed to. She heard about my story through the mentor grape vine and wanted to take a look!

I sent off my requested fulls, and waited. Nothing. No other emails. “Okay,” I figured. “That was cool to have some interest. I guess I wrote a good query!” I resigned myself to not being chosen, or perhaps getting lucky and getting picked in the bonus scavenger hunt round.

giphy1

The days passed. August 24th drew nearer. I distracted myself with a new WIP and some DnD. Okay, a LOT of DnD. I made myself a real life spell book. Don’t judge me.

I was pasting some spells into my spell book when I heard my Twitter notification go off on my phone. So I picked it up to check. I had gotten a DM from a mutual: CONGRATULATIONS!

Dude, I know. This spell book is freaking amaz–wait. He’s not talking about DnD. That must mean…

gasp-gif-18

I WENT TO MY TWITTER FEED AND FOUND BRENDA’S POST WITH THE PITCH WARS LINK. I CLICKED ON THE LINK. AND…

The site was down.

giphy2

I freaked out. I had to see for myself. There was no way. NO. WAY.

Some kind Twitter friends of mine sent me screenshots of the list. It was true. I was in. I had been chosen.

I still don’t entirely believe it. Maybe I’ll wake up all of a sudden and this will all have been an amazing dream. I’m going to ride this dream for the time being, though, and blog about it. I’m also going to share the tips, tricks, and skills I learn as I go. So stick around!

tenor1

Screen Shot 2017-08-28 at 19.51.11

2 comments

  1. Congratulations! That’s wonderful news!! And very well deserved. I look forward to stealing from your brain everything you learn. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

